COMPSCI 112 Introduction to Internet/WWW
Instructor: John December · john@december.com · http://www.december.com/john/
COURSE INFORMATION

Course COMPSCI 112, Section 001, Fall 2003, University of Wisconsin--Milwaukee, Department of Computer Science
Credits: 1

Class meetings: EMS E237; Mondays and Wednesdays 12:30 pm to 1:45 pm
Days: Mon Oct 6, Wed Oct 8, Mon Oct 13, Wed Oct 15, Mon Oct 20, Wed Oct 22, Mon Oct 27, Wed Oct 29, Mon Nov 3, Wed Nov 5.

Office Hours: before or after class or by appointment. By email, 24 hours per day, 7 days per week (with correct subject line).

COURSE MATERIALS

Material for class is at: http://www.december.com/web/text/tutor/intro.html or alternatively at http://home.earthlink.net/~johndecember/

This material is on my Web site and is part of my "Web Text" (http://www.december.com/web/text/).

GRADING

The course includes graded homework and a test; students can do well on these items by following along on the in-class lessons, using due diligence, and turning in assignments on time. There is no extra credit.

  1. Assignment 1: Your Net/Web Use (33 points, Due Sunday, October 12, 2003, 10:00 pm CDT)
  2. Assignment 2: Information Hunt (33 points, Due Sunday, October 19, 2003, 10:00 pm CDT)
  3. Assignment 3: Communications Log (33 points, Due Sunday, October 26, 2003, 10:00 pm CST)
  4. Test (101 points, On Wednesday, November 5, 2003, in class)
Your
Total Points
Your
Grade
187 to 200  A
180 to 186  A-
173 to 179  B+
166 to 172  B
159 to 165  B-
152 to 158  C+
145 to 151  C
138 to 144  C-
131 to 137  D+
124 to 130  D
117 to 123  D-
116 and below  F